top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNu Mishra

DEAR DIARY, JUST A QUESTION! – PART 1


People generally go up from an actual diary to a “Human Diary”, look who is moving down. Here I am, preferring this Diary above all the “Human Diaries”.

Wish this was about something specific, at least I’d know what to write. But hey, isn’t the whole concept of a diary is “Pouring your heart out” & “without any filters”? Actually, the human diaries changed the whole concept for me. But anyways, let me use this keyboard instead of my mouth and this 15-inch-wide screen for once.

There are a lot of things going on in my mind lately. The good part is, I can feel and react. The bad part is, not everyone can understand. And no matter how much you say, I am enough for myself, you need people to understand you. I repeat “need” and not “want”. Yes, need is a much stronger emotion than want. “Want” is more selfish, doesn’t always be good for you, while “Need” is for your own good, of course if controlled and balanced. These Pandemic times are making it worse actually, where earlier I didn’t even have time for introspection, now I ought to Introspect and overthink more than required.

Firstly, there is one thing which is bothering me a lot these days. As a matter of fact, bothering more than 50% of the population. The situation of politics, media & Entertainment is getting pathetic day by day. Where, in the last decade, I have grown up listening to my father telling me to stop watching MTV or other Daily Soap Entertainment, and watch news instead, now this decade has turned the News Channels into some Entertainment Show. Where I have read “News” & “Internet” as the source of Information, now they have become the biggest reasons behind being “misinformed’. Where I have grown up learning in the first lesson of Political Science that “India is a democratic country and all humans are equal in the eyes of law.” & “Democracy is a government of the people, for the people & by the people.”, now the time has come where more the power, more the rights and more the benefits, where the definition of Democracy has been tarnished like some piece of scrap paper. We are living in a country where the mysterious death of a Film star, with all due respect, has more media coverage than REAL issues like the hundreds of rape cases, negligence & poor administration by the police and problems of the farmers. The support for any good initiative now a days is suppressed by the mass criticism and bias due to favoritism. There is so much more hatred than love in people. I am not really sure that years from now, I would be able to teach my child that India is the only country where there is so much Unity in Diversity. I really doubt.

Ask me India is governed by the right people, I won’t be 100% sure about it. Ask me if the others can do a better job, I highly doubt that. This is so frustrating, not able to be having an opinion, IS SO DAMN FRUSTRATING. Where people out there are behaving like sheep following the herd, where the people are tagged as “Andhbhakts” and “Pappus”, it is really difficult to have an unbiased and genuine opinion. Not just in India, it is happening all around the world. The year 2020 has been the most doomed year I have lived in. Where the World is whispering about World Wars, our country is struggling with their own issues.

In the past 5 years, one thing I had inculcated in me was having stern opinions and standing by them. But this whole current scenario has failed me, failed me as a person, failed me as an adult, failed me as a citizen.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page